# The Ten Gurus of Sikhism

This list of the ten Gurus of Sikhism briefly summarizes the key contributions of each Guru.

## 1. Guru Nanak (1469 to 1539)

The Sikh tradition began with his teachings.

## 2. Guru Angad (1504 to 1552)

He compiled Nanak's hymns, which were the start of the Sikh scripture.

## 3. Guru Amar Das (1479 to 1574)

He divided the expanding Sikh community into distinct congregations.

### 4. Guru Ram Das (1534 to 1581)

He founded the city of Amritsar, which is considered the sacred center of the Sikh faith.

### 5. Guru Arjan (1563 to 1606)

He compiled the Adi Granth and built the Golden Temple in Amritsar. He altered the role of the Guru by being a worldly, as well as spiritual, leader.

## 6. Guru Hargobind (1595 to 1644)

Under him the military strength of the Sikh community developed and grew.

#### 7. Guru Har Rai (1630 to 1661)

He was only fourteen years old when he became Guru. Throughout his reign Sikhs were preoccupied with the military threat of the Moghul Empire.

## 8. Guru Har Krishan (1656 to 1664)

He was just five years old when he became Guru, and he died three years later in a smallpox epidemic.

#### 9. Guru Tegh Bahadur (1621 to 1675)

He was martyred for refusing to convert to Islam.

#### 10. Guru Gobind Singh (1666 to 1708)

The last of the Sikh Gurus, Gobind Singh established the Khalsa and named the Adi Granth his successor.