The Ten Gurus of Sikhism

This list of the ten Gurus of Sikhism briefly summarizes the key contributions of each Guru.

1. Guru Nanak (1469–1539)

The Sikh tradition began with his teachings.

2. Guru Angad (1504-1552)

He compiled Nanak's hymns, which were the start of the Sikh scripture.

3. Guru Amar Das (1479–1574)

He divided the expanding Sikh community into distinct congregations.

4. Guru Ram Das (1534-1581)

He founded the city of Amritsar, which is considered the sacred center of the Sikh faith.

5. Guru Arjan (1563–1606)

He compiled the Adi Granth and built the Golden Temple in Amritsar. He altered the role of the Guru by being a worldly, as well as spiritual, leader.

6. Guru Hargobind (1595-1644)

Under him the military strength of the Sikh community developed and grew.

7. Guru Har Rai (1630–1661)

He was only fourteen years old when he became Guru. Throughout his reign, Sikhs were preoccupied with the military threat of the Moghul Empire.

8. Guru Har Krishan (1656–1664)

He was just five years old when he became Guru, and he died three years later in a smallpox epidemic.

9. Guru Tegh Bahadur (1621–1675)

He was martyred for refusing to convert to Islam.

10. Guru Gobind Singh (1666–1708)

The last of the Sikh Gurus, Gobind Singh established the Khalsa and named the Adi Granth his successor.

Document #: TX003791

